< main menu news latest catalogue UT releases Audion retail mail-order address email gig news

tel: 0116 270 2354



purchase via


audio promo

Gulag Archipelago (edit)



available as...
Auricle AMCDR 247 7.00
bandcamp download

duration: 57'45"

1. Islands Suite 28'19"

2. Gulag Archipelago 20'13"

3. Aisle Of Dreams 9'09"


Recorded between July 1986 and January 1987 using Digital, Analogue, Modular and Sampled Sound Sources.
Mixed and mastered at Hollow Sun Electronic Music Studio, Cardiff, December 1986 - March 1987. Very special thanks to Steve Howell of Hollow Sun.
Design and Graphics by Tim Morgan & Kevin O'Neill.
MC (K 05) 1987

This CD remaster by Alan Freeman at Tachyon Studio 10 February 2017.
Track 1 partly sourced from the "Omega 8" CDR release bonus track.
All the rest is from a copy of the original cassette, transferred to Digital by Jack McCafferty.

The most ambitious (arguably) of Kevin's releases, in that it is just three big works, including an extended 28 minute suite and a majestic 20 minute opus, blending his familiar style with elements that recall some of the earlier works of Edgar Froese and Cluster/Roedelius, and a kind of neo-baroque approach to keyboard melodies.
Possibly the most obscure of Kevin's releases, and never reissued before, this was a tricky one to restore, but the results sound pretty good!

Original issue: MC (K 05) - released 1987.
CD-R: 20 numbered copies - released 15/3/2017.
Bandcamp download - released 21/11/2018.

Auricle on Discogs
Kevin O'Neill on Discogs

CD-R release
cover graphics

Samples from this album can
auditioned using the built in
Discogs YouTube player.

Discogs also offers:
easy worldwide ordering
of single or multiple items
with tailored billing and
payment via PayPal.


web site designed and managed by Alan Freeman 2000-2020 Ultima Thule, Leicester, UK - constantly work in progress, advice welcome, please report broken links - E&OE